What is the Alternative to a Gluten-Free Diet?

Wheat, one of the most widely consumed grains in the world, contains gluten, a mixture of proteins that can be toxic for people with coeliac disease. A new study that analysed the toxic components of these proteins in various varieties of wheat makes the first step forward towards developing wheat-based products that are safe for celiacs.

Bread, biscuits, pasta and patisserie products in general are the main foods made using wheat, and they are not recommended for celiacs. Patients who consumed a mixture of proteins containing this grain – gluten – experience an immune response in their bodies.

Excerpted from sciencedaily.com

Read Full Article

Leave a comment